Sport and Recreation



The Free State Sport Confederation (FSSC) is the controlling body of sport in the province and is constituted by all Sport Federations as well as Local and District Municipal Sport Councils in the Province. A strong link between the Department and athletes, whose objective is the promotion of sport and recreation, will be enhanced by this structure.

Strategic Objectives

The primary objective of the FSSC is to ensure proper and well-coordinated sport programmes in the Free State, good governance and intensified partnerships.  The FSSC strategic objectives are to:

  • ensure affiliation of provincial sport federations to the FSSC
  • support provincial sport federations;
  • support athletes and
  • host major sport events
  • Affiliates

Affiliated Provincial Sport Federations

Forty (40) provincial federations, five (5) Disability Federations and four (4) District Sport Councils were affiliated to the Free State Sport Confederation by the end of 2011.Contact Details

Committee Members

Contact Details

Ms. Dulcy Modise

Physical Address: 04 President Brand Street, Oranjesig, BLOEMFONTEIN, 9301
Postal Address: PO Box 7046, Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel: 051-447 0015
Fax: 051-447 0013



Free State School Sport Controlling Body (FSSSCB) was officially launched on the 28th April 2010 at Grey College in Bloemfontein. This structure was the second of its kind to be established in the country. It was established through a consultative process from local level to provincial level of management of school sport.

Composition and Structure:

The FSSSCB comprises of Local School Code Committees, Town Code Committees, Zonal  Code Committees, District Code Committees, the Provincial Forum and the Provincial Executive Committee. The Provincial Forum is represented by chairpersons of Code Committees, School Governing Body members and the Teacher Unions. The Executive Management Committee is constituted by the elected members of the Provincial Forum.The Provincial Committee is structured as follows: the Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson for Secondary Schools, Deputy Chairperson for Primary Schools, Deputy Chairperson for Learners with Special Needs (LSEN) Schools, Secretary/Treasurer and one Additional Member as well as two officials from Syrac and two officials from Sport and Talent Development (STD) programme in the Department that serve as ex officio members.

Strategic Focus:

The FSSSCB is in charge of overseeing all schools sport activities such as Competitive Sport and Mass Participation in schools. The Body also serves as an advisory structure to the MEC for Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation as well as the MEC for Basic Education. The focus of FSSSCB is on 16 school sport codes, including;

  • Athletics
  • Aquatics
  • Baton twirling
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Chess
  • Cricket
  • Cross-Country
  • Football
  • Hockey
  • Netball
  • Rugby
  • Table Tennis
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Gymnastics